A Brief Interlude With Pattern

The spring edition of the F.I.G. (Fashion Industry Gallery) Finale sale last month yielded a fresh haul of deeply discounted, gorgeous, designer label goodies to pump new blood into the ol’ wardrobe. My first find hails from label Loveappella with mixed pattern, buttons, and a back-laced empire waist in a shortest of the short-short dress. Seriously, when the sales associate said it was a dress, I was surprised. But then again I am probably more than a little modest. I prefer to call it classy. Anyway it cost only $35 and I love how it looks on me.

Sporting a silk cherry blossom kanzashi in my locks and ceramic focal bead statement necklace.

Sporting a silk cherry blossom kanzashi in my locks and ceramic focal bead statement necklace.

Tiny polka dots adorn the tan fabric, with Italian marbled paper-esque swirls coursing through the blue. Although this garment probably consists of polyester, one of my primary closet no-no’s, the flattering fit, retro details, and artistic flourishes won me over. I clipped a handmade pink and white silk kanzashi (Japanese folded fabric flower hair ornament) from Etsy in my hair hoping to herald in spring here in the thick of late Texas winter. I also re-stringed the large ceramic focal beads in my necklace from another Etsy seller, which unfortunately arrived in an unwearable and highly unattractive arrangement hanging on a poly chiffon ribbon with no other beads. They wouldn’t even dangle facing outward properly. My friend gave them to me as a gift and should be tickled pink when she sees how I overhauled them with sterling silver wire, semi-precious stones, and dyed bamboo coral.

The whole getup.

The whole getup.

silk cherry blossom kanzashi from Etsy / fabric-ornamented bobby pin from ModCloth / James Avery earrings / handmade statement necklace / Elle cami from Kohl’s / Loveappella dress from a F.I.G. Finale / half slip from Kohl’s / vintage cuff bracelet / Time Will Rebel Watch from ModCloth / assorted rings / HUE tights from Macy’s / Nine West laced up Midnightsun boots

marble3

My slip almost made an appearance in this shot, due to the fact that in order to make it short enough for this barely-a-dress dress I rolled the waist under and tucked it into the tights. I did have to adjust it a few times throughout the evening, and due to the sheerness of the dress could not go without, which counts as the final pronounced con for this frock. Note to manufacturers: stop lining sheer garments with sheer fabric! All aboard the failboat. On another note I seriously love the boots, with a little bit of the prairie aesthetic and distressed/coated suede to go with full frontal laces. I really rather liked this particular assemblage of clothing overall; I’m chalking it up as a success.

My next adventure in print, this time with a pussy bow and pussy cats.

My next adventure in print, this time with a pussy bow and pussy cats.

Another thing I love literally covers this silk tie-neck blouse by Lilly Pulitzer, also a purchase from the latest F.I.G. Finale. I don’t recall exactly what I spent on this one, somewhere around $35 I believe. I tried it on as a lark but then promptly fell in love with the fit, neckline, bow, and print. I’m wearing one of my favorite camisoles, which comes from Icebreaker, a brand making garments specifically in wool from New Zealand sheep. Special enzyme treatments of the fiber strips the barbs that typically cause the itchiness associated with wool. Their garments feel lovely on my skin, keep me warm, and add practically no visual bulk. I have panties from them as well and after frequent wear for about 5 years are just now beginning to fall apart. At $50 and $30 a pop respectively, they darn well better last awhile!

Taking advantage of the blooming ornamental pear trees.

Taking advantage of the blooming ornamental pear trees.

Mustard polka dot headband from Anthropologie / handmade sterling and gemstone earrings from a Portland, OR boutique / Lilly Pulitzer silk blouse from a F.I.G. Finale / belt from JCPenney / Icebreaker lightweight wool camisole from Whole Earth Provision Co. / handmade yellow opal bracelet / Time Will Rebel Watch from ModCloth / assorted rings / True Religion jeans from a F.I.G. Finale / Stuart Weitzman studded kitten heels from Revente Upscale Resale

Last one.

Last one.

I employed a waist belt to nip in at my narrowest part since the blouse really doesn’t have any inherent shape. The True Religion jeans also came from the most recent F.I.G. sale. At only $65 new with tags and for how well they fit me, taking them home definitely falls into the no brainer category. Regular inseam jeans often extend far beyond my leg length and I hemmed these myself with my reliable Kenmore sewing machine. Another successful look overall, I feel. Thanks for reading and TTFN!

This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment