Art Deco & Studs

I originally discovered U.K. company Dorothy Perkins on various fashion blogs and Pinterest, and was struck by the high quality and up-to-date style versus sensible price of their clothing, shoes, and accessories. They frequently offer discounts even on sale merchandise and free shipping above a certain order total. The black cotton frock with printed panels featured in this post went through a few discounts from it’s already reasonable RRP of $69 before I ordered it, with an additional discount code for a resulting price of $35. A 50% deduction works for me!

A going out for lunch with family and chores on a hot day kind of outfit.

A going out for lunch with family and chores on a hot day kind of outfit.

James Avery earrings, gifted / mother of pearl dove pin handmade in Israel, gifted / Dorothy Perkins pencil dress from their website / JCPenney faux leather belt / Ted Baker watch from Hautelook / porcelain medallion bracelet handmade by roundrabbit on Etsy, gifted / assorted rings / Stuart Weitzman studded kitten heels, thrifted

My husband and I took care of some chores before meeting my father-in-law and his wife for a nice lunch at Fuzzy’s Taco. The belated Father’s Day meal was a nice interlude on a hot early summer day. I opted for bare legs and an unlined, cotton dress with the weather in mind.

I love practically anything Art Deco and Art Nouveau.

I love practically anything Art Deco and Art Nouveau.

Dorothy Perkins clothing is sized U.K. but their U.S. website lists sizes with the appropriate conversion. So even though I order size 10, the label lists U.K. size 14. Typically the garments fit spot on but this one runs loose in the waist and gapes at the back of the collar. A warm machine wash and tumble dry helped some and a waist belt cinched the last inch or so. The collar gap remains but doesn’t bother me much. It looks kind of like the sexy dropped collar at the back of a kimono. The gorgeous Art Deco print and cut of the dress attracted me, plus the length is just right. Overall I’m pleased with it.

I selected little black pumps with studded straps and pointed toes from designer label Stuart Weitzman, which I found in an upscale resale shop. A little pop of color from the red and purple belt works well with the subdued eggshell pink, mauve, and lavender of the printed fabric.

The carved dove pinned on my dress has a lovely story behind it: when I was little, 8 years old or so, my family attended church with a wonderful, mixed Methodist congregation. One of the older women became fond of me, and I of her. When I complimented her mother of pearl dove pin one Sunday, she told me about her pilgrimage to Jerusalem where she found and purchased the pin as a souvenir. She then promptly removed it from her blouse and handed it to me, explaining that she wanted me to have it, complete with the good energy it carried. I was so touched and I never forgot the gesture. It helps remind me how much love and potential exists in mankind.

TTFN!

This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment